Citadelle de Besancon

Citadelle de Besancon


Vauban’s masterpiece has been remarkably restored; today the Citadel of Besancon is considered to be one of the most beautiful citadels in France. Built four centuries ago, the Citadel rises over 100 meters above the historic centre of the capital of the Franche-Comte region, a privileged site tucked into a bend in the river which offers magnificent views. This 11 hectare site has become a Mecca for culture and tourism. The exceptional value of the site was acknowledged by UNESCO in July 2008 when it included the site on its World Heritage listing as a symbol of Vauban’s work.

Uniquely and quite unexpected in this incomparable site, The Citadel is also home to three national museums:

The Museum of Natural History which brings together a number of mounte collections including collections of insects, fish, birds and mammals.

The Comtois Folklore Museum that brings together hundreds of objects that tell the story of the traditions and know-how present in the rural areas of Franche-Comte and the urban areas of Besacon.

The Resistance and Deportation Museum, created in 1971, respectfully examines in detail this dark page of history. It is one of the five leading museums of its kind in France.

The various possibilities for visiting the site:

with an interactive multilingual audio guide (Fr / Eng / Ger) that lets you explore the site at your own pace;

with an approved trilingual guide (Fr I Eng I Ger) you will discover the site’s exceptional defensive features, the history and the role of the fortress’ construction to our day as well as topics related to the Second World War,

with an actor interpreting characters from the past who reveals all the secrets the Citadel (Fr I Eng)

Two dining areas have been set aside exclusively for groups: Le Relais des Cadets and Les Terrasses de Vauban.

Text & Image supplied by Besançon Citadel website. Image copyright David Lefranc.

Attraction Details

phone number: +33 (0)3 81 87 83 33



address 1: 99, rue des Fusillés

address 2: Besancon