This village was destroyed by the German Army and its inhabitants murdered in June 1944. Since then it has stood as a testament to the brutality of war.

In 1999 the Centre de la Memoire d’Oradour was open by the French president Jacques Chirac. The museum includes items recovered from the village. In addition to commemorating the loss of the village, the memorial now has the wider mission of perpetuating a message of remembrance and peace, and now covers the whole World history.

Whilst there is a charge for entry to the Centre, entry to the preserved village is free. Audio guides in French, English and Dutch are available for hire.

Text GS. Image copyright Centre de la mémoire d’Oradour.

Attraction Details

phone number: +33(0)5 55 430 430

website: www.oradour.org/en

address 1: Centre de la Memoire d'Oradour - BP 12

address 2: Oradour-sur-Glane

postcode: 87520

Gites Near Oradour-sur-Glaner